Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

TLU's Bailey Nimtz named to All-SCAC Second Team for third time in career

Bailey Nimtz (photo by Dustin Wyatt)
Bailey Nimtz (photo by Dustin Wyatt)

SEGUIN, Texas – Texas Lutheran senior defender Bailey Nimtz has been named to the Southern Collegiate Athletic Conference Women's Soccer All-Conference Second Team for the third time in her career.

Nimtz (New Braunfels/Canyon) has played and started all 17 matches for TLU leading into the Bulldogs' Friday quarterfinal appearance in the SCAC Women's Soccer Championship. 

The Bulldogs (7-8-2) are the No. 5 seed for the SCAC Championship and are currently scoreless in the first half against No. 4 seed University of Dallas (9-6-2, 5-2-1).

Nimtz has led a TLU defensive effort that has allowed 1.83 goals per match.

In addition to leading the TLU defense, Nimtz takes most of TLU's corner kicks, free kicks, and penalty kicks.

Nimtz has scored two goals and has an assist in 2019. For her career, she has scored 11 goals, dished out five assists, and tallied 27 total points.

The SCAC All-Conference teams and Players of the Year are determined by exclusive voting among the league's women's soccer coaches.

2019 SCAC Women's Soccer Offensive Player-of-the-Year

Migui Boldrin                Centenary College           Sr.        M         Ribeirao, Brazil

2019 SCAC Women's Soccer Defensive Player-of-the-Year
Kristen Canepa                Trinity University           Sr.        D          Westlake Village, Calif.   

2019 SCAC Women's Soccer Newcomer-of-the-Year
Alyssa Mencacci              University of Dallas         Fy.       M         League City, Texas

2019 SCAC Women's Soccer Coach-of-the-Year
Dylan Harrison                Trinity University           8-0 SCAC / 14-3-0 overall / SCAC Regular Season Champs

2019 All-SCAC Women's Soccer First Team                                
Kristen Canepa                Trinity University           Sr.        D          Westlake Village, Calif.
Romie Reyna                  Southwestern Univ.         Sr.        D          Fort Worth, Texas
May Le Lien                   University of Dallas         So.       D          Katy, Texas
Nyah Shepherd                Trinity University           Fy.       D          Deer Park, Texas
Kaity Ward                    Trinity University           So.       F          Phoenix, Ariz.
Kyra Montes                   Centenary College           Sr.        F          Shreveport, La.
Alexis Guajardo              Southwestern Univ.         Fy.       F          Brownsville, Texas
Migui Boldrin                Centenary College           Sr.        M         Ribeiaro, Brazil
Camryn Beall                 Trinity University           So.       M         Morrison, Colo.
Abby Blackwood             Trinity University           Jr.         M         Malibu, Calif.
Mary Cardone                 Southwestern Univ.         Sr.        GK       San Antonio, Texas

2019 All-SCAC Women's Soccer Second Team
Bailey Nimtz                  Texas Lutheran Univ.       Sr.        D          New Braunfels, Texas
Samiah Varnell               Southwestern Univ.         So.       D          Austin, Texas
Bailey Meyer                  Trinity University           Fy.       D          Southlake, Texas
Dani Loeblein                 Schreiner University         Sr.        F          Houston, Texas
Natasha Martin                Johnson & Wales            Sr.        F          Las Vegas, Nev.
Katarina Maksimov          Univ. of St. Thomas        Sr.        F          Richmond, Texas
Monica O'Donnell           University of Dallas         So.       F          Lincoln, Neb.
Aeriana Lewis                 Univ. of St. Thomas        So.       M         Houston, Texas
Alyssa Mencacci              University of Dallas         Fy.       M         League City, Texas
Betzabet Bravo Carmona   Centenary College           Sr.        M         Katy, Texas
Alexis Barrientez             Southwestern Univ.         Sr.        M         Georgetown, Texas
Paige Wallace                 Trinity University           Jr.         GK       Austin, Texas

2019 All-SCAC Women's Soccer Honorable Mention
Kayta Arbuthnot              Johnson & Wales            Fy.       D          Littleton, Colo.
Lilah Bevins                   Trinity University           Jr.         D          Austin, Texas
Juliana Chapa                 Southwestern Univ.         Fy.       D          Edinburg, Texas
Yosi Bouslog                 Centenary College           Fy.       D          Friendswood, Texas
Sydney Wright               Univ. of St. Thomas        Sr.        D          Katy, Texas
Sarah Zimmer                 Univ. of St. Thomas        So.       D          Willis, Texas
Molly Sheridan               Trinity University           Fy.       F          St. Louis, Mo.
Rebecca Brock                Johnson & Wales            Sr.        F          Amarillo, Texas
Maya Fuller                    Southwestern Univ.         Jr.         F          Cedar Park, Texas
Juliet Pridgen                 Southwestern Univ.         Fy.       F          Mabank, Texas
Elisa Duran                    University of Dallas         Sr.        M         Pomona, Calif.
Karlee Holmes                Southwestern Univ.         Fy.       M         Austin, Texas
Jessica Young                 Trinity University           Fy.       M         Spring, Texas
Gigi Garcia Orozco          University of Dallas         Fy.       M         San Antonio, Texas
Maya Erwin                    Austin College                Jr.         GK       Kyle, Texas
Olivia Severson               University of Dallas         Sr.        GK       La Crosse, Wisc.
Olivia Futch                   Univ. of St. Thomas        So.       GK       Katy, Texas

Note: Coaches voted for first team and second team – with each voted team consisting of three defenders, three midfielders, three forwards, one goalkeeper and one at-large selection. A first-team vote was worth two points and a second-team vote was worth one point. Any player who received at least two different votes from the coaches but did not receive enough votes to earn either first or second team honors, was named Honorable Mention. Coaches could not vote for their own players.