Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Four Bulldogs selected to NABC Honors Court

Four Bulldogs selected to NABC Honors Court

SEGUIN, Texas – Texas Lutheran’s Shawn Hamilton, Nathan Josephs, Jacob Kouremetis, and Jackson Willoughby were named to the 2018-19 National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC) Honors Court.


The NABC Honors Court recognizes men’s basketball student-athletes who excelled in academics during the past season. The NABC Honors Court recognizes the talents and gifts that these men possess off the court and the hard work they exhibit in the classroom. 


In order to be named to the Honors Court, a student-athlete must meet a high standard of academic criteria. The qualifications for Honors Court distinction include: being a junior or senior on the varsity team, a cumulative grade point average of 3.2 or higher at the end of the 2018-19 academic year, and students must have attended at least one full year at their current institution.


All four TLU Bulldogs earned NABC Honors Court awards for a second straight season.


The four student-athletes led TLU to the 2019 Southern Collegiate Athletic Conference Championship and to the 2019 NCAA Division III Men’s Basketball Championship (first round).


Kouremetis (San Antonio/O’Connor), Hamilton (San Antonio/MacArthur) and Willoughby (Port Aransas/Port Aransas) won three SCAC Championships and made three NCAA tournament appearances. Josephs (San Antonio/Clark) won one SCAC Championship and played in the NCAA tournament once.


The Southern Collegiate Athletic Conference put 23 student-athletes on the NABC Honor Court


TLU was joined on the NABC Honors Court by SCAC student-athletes from: Austin CollegeColorado CollegeSouthwestern University, and Trinity University.


Colorado College, Southwestern and Trinity also earned the NABC Team Academic Excellence award.


Below are the 23 SCAC student-athletes who were recognized:


Austin College
Devin Roland - Junior - Business Administration
Quinten Tabor - Senior - Political Science


Colorado College
CooXooEli Black - Junior - English
Eric Jones - Junior - Molecular Biology
Edmond Pendleton - Senior - Political Science and Economics


Southwestern University
Brandon Alexander - Junior - Business
Jake Holmes - Senior - Business
Kyle Howard - Junior - Physics
Stan Kannegieter - Senior - Mathematics
Joel Martinez - Junior - Mathematics
Mike May - Junior - Physics
Justin McCormack - Junior - Biochemistry
Andrew Puhl - Junior - Political Science
Ryan Wheeler - Junior - Computer Science


Texas Lutheran University
Shawn Hamilton - Senior - Sports Management
Nathan Josephs - Senior - Business
Jacob Kouremetis - Senior - Business
Jackson Willoughby - Senior – Business


Trinity University
Matthew Colliflower - Senior - Mathematics
Taylor Kim - Senior - Communications
Stephen Molina - Junior - Accounting
Lucas Oldham - Junior - Finance
Danny Rivera - Senior - Business Analytics


Click here to see the full list of 2018-19 NABC Honors Court members.